Selected Experts: The Future of Health Insurance

Speakers – The State of Play: Challenges and Issues in Health Insurance

Tom Daschle The Daschle Group, Founder and CEO; Former U.S. Senate Minority Leader
Thomas A. Scully Welsh, Carson, Anderson & Stowe, General Partner
Reed Tuckson (Moderator) Tuckson Health Connections, Managing Director

 

Speakers – Stabilizing the Individual Insurance Market

Karen Bender Snowway Actuarial & Healthcare Consultants LLC, President

(920) 826-2422     karen.bender@saahc.com

Peter Lee Covered California, Executive Director

(916) 228-8699     peter.lee@covered.ca.gov

Ed Haislmaier The Heritage Foundation, Senior Research Fellow in Health Policy Studies, Institute for Family, Community, and Opportunity

(202) 608-6078     ed.haislmaier@heritage.org

Chris Holt American Action Forum, Director of Health Care Policy
Tom Miller American Enterprise Institute, Resident Fellow

(202) 862-5886     tmiller@aei.org

Sarah Dash (Moderator) Alliance for Health Reform, President and co-CEO

(202) 789-2300     SarahDash@allhealth.org

 

Speakers – Medicaid Moving Forward

Josh Archambault

 

Foundation for Government Accountability, Senior Fellow

(239) 244-8808     josh@thefga.org

Trish Riley National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP), Executive Director

(207) 874-6524     TRiley@nashp.org

Diane Rowland Kaiser Family Foundation, Executive Vice President

(202) 347-5270

Judith Solomon

 

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, Vice President for Health Policy

(202) 408-1080     solomon@cbpp.org

Marilyn Serafini (Moderator) Alliance for Health Reform, President and co-CEO

(202) 789-2300     mserafini@allhealth.org

 

Speakers – On the Ground Considerations and Implications

Michael D. Aubin Wolfson Children’s Hospital, President
Andy Chasin Blue Shield of California, Director of Public Policy

(415) 994-4187     Andy.Chasin@blueshieldca.com

Kisha Davis Casey Health Institute, Family Physician; CFAR, Consultant

(301) 664-6464     kdavis@cfar.com

Kirsten Sloan American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Vice President for Policy

kirsten.sloan@cancer.org

Noam N. Levey (Moderator) Los Angeles Times, Writer

Noam.Levey@latimes.com

 

Experts and Analysts

Joan Alker Georgetown University, Executive Director, Center for Children and Families

(202) 784-4075     jca25@georgetown.edu

Drew Altman Kaiser Family Foundation, President and CEO

(650) 854-9400

Joseph Antos American Enterprise Institute, Resident Fellow and Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy

(202) 862-5938     jantos@aei.org

Joel Ario Manatt Health Solutions, Managing Director

(202) 585-6500     jario@manatt.com

Lynn Blewett

 

State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC), Director

(612) 626-4739     blewe001@umn.edu

Linda Blumberg Urban Institute, Senior Fellow

(202) 261-5709     media@urban.org

James Capretta

 

American Enterprise Institute, Resident Fellow and Milton Friedman Chair

jcapretta@aei.org

Lanhee Chen Stanford University, David and Diane Steffy Research Fellow at the Hoover Institution

Lanhee.chen@stanford.edu

Gary Claxton Kaiser Family Foundation, Vice President; Director, Health Care Marketplace Project; Co-director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance

(202) 347-5270

Sara Collins The Commonwealth Fund, Vice President, Health Care Coverage and Access

(212) 606-3838     src@cmwf.org

Sabrina Corlette Georgetown University Center on Health Insurance Reforms,  Research Professor and Project Director

(202) 687-3003     sc732@georgetown.edu

Cynthia Cox Kaiser Family Foundation,  Associate Director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance

(202) 347-5270     ccox@kff.org

Charlene Frizzera CF Health Advisors, President; Leavitt Partners, Senior Advisor

(443) 794-4379     cfrizzera@cfhealthadvisors.com

Paul Fronstin Employee Benefit Research  Institute,  Director, Health Research & Education Program

(202) 775-6352     fronstin@ebri.org

Rachel Garfield Kaiser Family Foundation, Associate Director, Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured

(202) 347-5270     rachelg@kff.org

Paul Ginsburg Leonard D. Schaeffer Initiative for Innovation in Health Policy, University of Southern California, Director

(202) 797-6268     pginsburg@healthpolicy.usc.edu

Katherine Hempstead
John Holahan Urban Institute, Institute Fellow, Health Policy Center

(202) 261-5709     media@urban.org

Doug Holtz-Eakin

 

American Action Forum, President

(202) 559-6420     dholtzeakin@americanactionforum.org

Timothy Jost Washington and Lee School of Law, Robert L. Willett Family Professor of Law

(540) 564-2524     jostt@wlu.edu

Genevieve Kenney Urban Institute, Co-director, Health Policy Center

(202) 261-5568     jkenney@urban.org

Larry Levitt Kaiser Family Foundation, Senior Vice President, Special Initiatives

(650) 854-9400     larryl@kff.org

Kevin Lucia Georgetown University, Research Professor, Health Policy Institute

(202)687-0880      kwl@georgetown.edu

Barbara Lyons Kaiser Family Foundation, Director, Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured

(202) 347-5270     blyons@kff.org

Cindy Mann Manatt Health Solutions, Partner

(202) 585-6572     cmann@manatt.com

Enrique Martinez-Vidal Academy Health, Vice President for State Policy and Technical Assistance

(202) 204-7509     enrique.martinez-vidal@academyhealth.org

Jack Meyer Health Management Associates, Senior Fellow

(202) 785-3669     jmeyer@healthmanagement.com

MaryBeth Musumeci Kaiser Family Foundation, Associate Director, Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured

(202) 347-5270     marybethm@kff.org

Rachel Nuzum The Commonwealth Fund, Vice President, Federal and State Health Policy

(202) 292-6722     rn@cmwf.org

Karen Pollitz Kaiser Family Foundation, Senior Fellow, Health Reform and Private Insurance

(202) 347-5270     kpollitz@kff.org

Robin Rudowitz Kaiser Family Foundation, Associate Director, Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured

(202) 347-5270     rrudowitz@kff.org

Andy Schneider

 

Georgetown University Health Policy Institute,  Research Professor of the Practice,  Center for Children and Families

andy.schneider@georgetown.edu

Vern K. Smith Health Management Associates, Senior Advisor

(517) 282-0841     vsmith@healthmanagement.com

Tim Westmoreland Georgetown University Law Center, Professor from Practice

(202) 662-9404     timothy.westmoreland@georgetown.edu

Gail R. Wilensky Project HOPE, Senior Fellow

(301) 347-3902     gwilensky@projecthope.org

 

Government and Government-Related Groups

Jessica Banthin Congressional Budget Office, Deputy Assistant Director, Health, Retirement, and Long-Term Analysis Division

(202) 226-2669     jessica.banthin@cbo.gov

Evelyne Baumrucker Congressional Research Service, Specialist, Health Insurance and Financing Section

(202) 227-8913     ebaumrucker@crs.loc.gov

Cliff Binder Congressional Research Service, Analyst, Health Insurance and Financing Section

(202) 227-7965     cbinder@crs.loc.gov

Kirsten Colello Congressional Research Service. Specialist in Health and Aging Policy

(202) 707-7839     kcolello@crs.loc.gov

Rachel Morgan National Conference of State Legislatures,  Senior Committee Director , Health & Human Services

(202) 624-3569     rachel.morgan@ncsl.org

Matt Salo National Association of Medicaid Directors, Executive Director

(202) 403-8621     matt.salo@medicaiddirectors.org

Anne Schwartz MACPAC, Executive Director

(202) 350-2000     anne.schwartz@macpac.gov

Hemi Tewarson National Governors Association Center for Best Practices, Interim Division Director, Health Division

(202) 624-7803     htewarson@nga.org

Brian Webb National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Manager, Health Policy and Legislation

(202) 471-3978     bwebb@naic.org

 

Stakeholders

Anshu Choudhri BlueCross BlueShield Association, Managing Director, Legislative and Regulatory Policy

(202) 626-8606     anshuman.choudhri@bcbsa.com

Ceci Connolly Alliance of Community Health Plans, President and CEO

(202) 785-2247     cconnolly@achp.org

Richard Deem

 

American Medical Association, Senior Vice President, Advocacy

(202) 789-7413     richard.deem@ama-assn.org

Daniel Hawkins National Association of Community Health Centers, Senior Vice President

(202) 296-3800     dhawkins@nachc.org

Frederick Isasi Families USA, Executive Director

fisasi@familiesusa.org

Jim Kaufman Children’s Hospital Association, Vice President of Public Policy

(202) 753-5500     jim.kaufman@childrenshospitals.org

Peter Leiboold Ascension Health, Chief Advocacy Officer

(314) 733-8000     peter.leibold@ascensionhealth.org

Dee Mahan Families USA, Medicaid Program Director

dmahan@familiesusa.org

R. Shawn Martin American Academy of Family Physicians, Senior Vice President, Advocacy, Practice Advancement and Policy

(202) 232-9033     smartin@aafp.org

Meg Murray

 

Association for Community Affiliated Plans, CEO

(202) 204-7509     mmurray@communityplans.net

Jeff Myers Medicaid Health Plans of America, President and CEO

(202) 857-5720     jmyers@mhpa.org

Bruce Siegel

 

America’s Essential Hospitals, President and CEO

bsiegel@essentialhospitals.org

Marilyn Tavenner America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP), President and CEO

(202) 778-3200     mtavenner@ahip.org

Ashley Thompson

 

American Hospital Association, Senior Vice President of Public Policy Analysis and Development

(202) 626-2688     athompson@aha.org

Leanne Zumwalt Davita, Group Vice President

Leanne.zumwalt@davita.com