Health Insurance Markets During a Time Of Change

SELECTED EXPERTS

Health Insurance Markets During a Time of Change: The Nuts and Bolts
Webinar
Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Speakers

Linda Blumberg Urban Institute, Senior Fellow

202/262-5769, lblumberg@urban.org

Christopher Holt American Action Fund, Director, Director of Health Care Policy

cholt@americanactionforum.org

Brian Webb National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Assistant Director, Health Policy and Legislation

202/471-3978, bwebb@naic.org

Mary Agnes Carey Kaiser Health News, Director, Senior Correspondent

202/654-1466, maryagnesc@kff.org

Mark Zdechlik Minnesota Public Radio, Reporter

mzdechlik@mpr.org


Experts and Analysts

Drew Altman Kaiser Family Foundation, President and CEO

650/854-9400

Joseph Antos American Enterprise Institute, Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy

202/862-5938  jantos@aei.org

Joel Ario Manatt Health Solutions, Managing Director

202/585-6500   jario@manatt.com

Stuart Butler The Brookings Institution, Senior Fellow, Economic Studies

202/797-6000   smbutler@brookings.edu

Michael Cannon CATO Institute, Director, Health Policy Studies

202/842-0200   mcannon@cato.org

James Capretta American Enterprise Institute,  Resident Fellow and Milton Friedman Chair

202/862-5920   james.capretta@aei.org

Gary Claxton Kaiser Family Foundation, Vice President, Director, Health Care Marketplace Project, co-director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance

202/347-5270

Sara Collins The Commonwealth Fund, Vice President, Healthcare Coverage and Access

212/606-3838  src@cmwf.org

Sabrina Corlette Georgetown University, Senior Research Professor,

Center on Health Insurance Reforms

202/687-3003   sc732@georgetown.edu

Bernadette Fernandez Congressional Research Service, Health Insurance and Financing Section, specialist

bfernandez@crs.loc.gov

Paul Fronstin Employee Benefit Research Institute, Director, Health Research and Education Program  

202/659-0670  fronstin@ebri.org

Paul Ginsburg University of Southern California, Director, Leonard D. Schaeffer Initiative for Innovation in Health Policy

202-797-6268    pginsburg@healthpolicy.usc.edu

Liz Hamel Kaiser Family Foundation, Director, Public Opinion and Survey Research

650/854-9400  LizH@kff.org

John Holahan Urban Institute, Institute Fellow, Health Policy Center

202/261-5666   jholahan@urban.org

Tim Jost Washington and Lee School of Law, Professor,

540/458-8510 jostt@wlu.edu

Jon Kingsdale Wakely Consulting, Director; Professor in the Brown and Boston Universities’ Schools of Public Health

339/927-1138   jonk@wakely.com

Larry Levitt Kaiser Family Foundation, Senior Vice President for Special Initiatives, co-director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance

650/854-9400   larryl@kff.org

Kevin Lucia Georgetown University,  Research Professor; Center on Health Insurance Reforms, McCourt School of Public Policy 

202/687-6889  kwl@georgetown.edu

Annie Mach Congressional Research Service, Health Insurance and Financing Section, analyst

amach@crs.loc.gov

John McDonough Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Professor

617/432-2212   jmcdonough@hsph.harvard.edu

Dan Mendelson Avalere Health, President

202/207-1310   dmendelson@avalere.com

Karen Pollitz Kaiser Family Foundation, Senior Fellow, Health Reform and Private Insurance

202/347-5270  karenp@kff.org

Chas Roades The Advisory Board Company, Chief Research Officer

202/266-5326   roadesc@advisory.com

Sara Rosenbaum George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Professor

202/994-4230   sarar@gwu.edu

Jeanette Thornton America’s Health Insurance Plans, Senior Vice President, Health Plan Operations and Strategy 

202/861-1491 jthornton@ahip.org

Namrata Uberoi Congressional Research Service, Health Insurance and Financing Section, analyst

nuberoi@crs.loc.gov

Cori Uccello American Academy of Actuaries, Senior Health Fellow

202/223-8196  uccello@actuary.org


Government and Government Related

Jessica Banthin Congressional Budget Office, Deputy Assistant Director, Health, Retirement, and Long-Term Analysis Division

202/226-2669  Jessica.Banthin@cbo.gov

 

Stakeholders

Justine Handelman Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, Vice President, Legislative and Regulatory Policy

202/626-4801   justine.handelman@bcbsa.com

Peter Leibold Ascension Health, Chief Advocacy Officer

314/733-8000   peter.leibold@ascensionhealth.org

Lydia Mitts Families USA, Senior Policy Analyst

lmitts@familiesusa.org

Lynn Quincy Consumer’s Union, Director, Healthcare Value Hub

202/462-6262 Ext 1125

Marilyn Tavenner America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP), President and CEO

202/778-3200   mtavenner@ahip.org