Expert List: Health Care Costs

The Alliance continuously updates our expert lists on key topics in health policy.

We are also happy to assist journalists who are seeking an expert on a specific topic. Reporters and editors should call the Alliance at 202/789-2300 or email us at info@allhealth.org for help finding an expert.


Drew Altman, president and CEO, Kaiser Family Foundation, 650/854-9400

Gerard Anderson, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, 410-955-3241, ganderson@jhu.edu

Joseph Antos, Wilson H. Taylor scholar in health care and retirement policy, American Enterprise Institute, 202/862-5938, jantos@aei.org

Shawn Bishop, vice president, controlling health care costs and advancing Medicare, The Commonwealth Fund, 202/292-6740, smb@cmwf.org

David Blumenthal, president, The Commonwealth Fund, 212/606-3825, db@cmwf.org

Tom Bradley, chief, Health Systems and Medicare Cost Estimates Unit, Congressional Budget Office, 202/226-9010, tom.bradley@cbo.gov

Michael Cannon, director of health policy studies, Cato Institute, 202/789-5200, mcannon@cato.org

Michael Chernew, professor of health care policy, Harvard Medical School, Harvard University, 617/432-0174, chernew@hcp.med.harvard.edu

Gary Claxton, vice president, director, Health Care Marketplace Project, co-director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270

Cynthia Cox, associate director, Program for the Study of Health Reform and Private Insurance, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, ccox@kff.org

David Cutler, Otto Eckstein professor of applied economics, Harvard University, 617/496-5216, dcutler@harvard.edu

Douglas Holtz-Eakin, president, American Action Forum, 202-559-6420, dholtzeakin@americanactionforum.org

Paul Fronstin, director, Health Research & Education Program, Employee Benefit Research Institute, 202/775-6352, fronstin@ebri.org

Jon Gabel, senior fellow, National Opinion Research Center, 301/634-9313, Gabel-Jon@norc.org

Paul Ginsburg, director, Leonard D. Schaeffer Initiative for Innovation in Health Policy, University of Southern California, 202-797-6268, pginsburg@healthpolicy.usc.edu

Stephen Heffler, director, National Health Statistics Group, Office of the Actuary, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 410/786-1211, stephen.heffler@cms.hhs.gov

John Holahan, institute fellow, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Frederick Isasi, director, National Governors Association Center for Best Practices, Health Division, 202-624-7872, fisasi@nga.org

Ashish Jha, director, Harvard Global Health Institute, 617-384-5367, ajha@hsph.harvard.edu

Larry Levitt, senior vice president, special initiatives, Kaiser Family Foundation, 650/854-9400

Mark McClellan, director, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University, 202-621-2817, mark.mcclellan@duke.edu

Stacey McMorrow, health economist, Urban Institute Health Policy Center, 202/261-5709, media@urban.org

Jack Meyer, senior fellow, Health Management Associates, 202/785-3669, jmeyer@healthmanagement.com

Thomas Miller, resident fellow, American Enterprise Institute, 202/862-5886, tmiller@aei.org

Karen Pollitz, senior fellow, Health Reform and Private Insurance, Kaiser Family Foundation, 202/347-5270, kpollitz@kff.org

Chas Roades, chief research officer, The Advisory Board Company, 202/266-5326, roadesc@advisory.com

John Rother, President and CEO, National Coalition on Health Care, 202/638-7151, jrother@nchc.org

Cori Uccello, senior health fellow, American Academy of Actuaries, 202-223-8196, uccello@actuary.org

Joel Zinberg, visiting scholar, American Enterprise Institute, Joel.Zinberg@aei.org