Board of Directors

Robert Graham, M.D. — Chairman
Robert Graham, M.D., has served in a series of positions in both the private and public health care sectors since 1970. His federal service has included posts as the first administrator of the Health Resources & Services Administration and as deputy director of the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. In addition, he served from 1985 to 2000 as the executive vice president of the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Reed V. Tuckson, M.D. — Vice Chairman and Secretary
Reed Tuckson is the managing director of Tuckson Health Connections, a health and medical care consulting business that brings people and ideas together to promote optimal health outcomes. Previously, he enjoyed a long tenure as executive vice president and chief of medical affairs for UnitedHealth Group. Prior to that, Dr. Tuckson’s career includes leadership positions at the American Medical Association, the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation, the District of Columbia government.

James R. Tallon, Jr. — Treasurer
James R. Tallon, Jr., is president of the United Hospital Fund of New York. He co-chairs the Philanthropy New York Health Working Group. He also serves on the boards of the Institute on Medicine as a Profession and the New York eHealth Collaborative, and he is a member of the advisory board for the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence. Mr. Tallon is also a member of the New York State Board of Regents.

Nancy W. Dickey, M.D.Board Member
Nancy W. Dickey, M.D., is president emeritus of The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center, and professor in the College of Medicine. Dr. Dickey served as president of the American Medical Association in 1998-99. She also has been active in numerous other professional organizations, including the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Texas Medical Association.

David LanskyBoard Member
David Lansky is president and chief executive officer of the Pacific Business Group on Health, and directs its efforts to improve the affordability and availability of high quality health care. Since 2008, Dr. Lansky has led the coalition of 50 large employers and health care purchasers representing over five million Americans. Dr. Lansky has served as a board member or adviser to the National Quality Forum, National Priorities Partnership, the Joint Commission, the National Patient Safety Foundation, the Leapfrog Group, and the Medicare Beneficiary Education Advisory Panel.

Peter M. LeiboldBoard Member
Peter M. Leibold is the chief advocacy officer for Ascension Health. In this role, Leibold works closely with executive leadership, advocacy and government affairs leaders across the Health Ministries of Ascension. Prior to joining Ascension, Leibold served for fifteen years as the executive vice president and chief executive officer of the American Health Lawyers Association. Prior to that, Leibold served as general counsel to the Catholic Health Association of the United States.

Mark McClellan, M.D., Ph.D. — Board Member
Mark McClellan, M.D., Ph.D., is the Robert J. Margolis professor of business, medicine, and health policy, and director of the Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University. He is a physician-economist who focuses on quality and value in health care including payment reform, real-world evidence and more effective drug and device innovation. He is former administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and former commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Francine ParkerBoard Member
Francine Parker is executive director of the UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust. The UAW Trust, launched in 2010, administers health care benefits to more than 806,000 retirees and eligible dependents from General Motors, Ford and Chrysler. Prior to her role at the the UAW Trust, Ms. Parker served as president and chief executive officer of Health Alliance Plan and senior vice president of insurance-purchaser relations for Henry Ford Health System.

John C. Rother, J.D. — Board Member
John Rother is president and CEO of the National Coalition on Health Care, bringing together employers, unions, insurers, providers and consumers around the common goals of keeping health care affordable, protecting vulnerable populations and improving value. For the previous 27 years, Mr. Rother was with AARP, most recently as executive vice president of policy, strategy and international affairs.

Sarah J. DashPresident and Co-CEO
Sarah joined the Alliance in April 2014 as vice president for Policy. Prior to joining the Alliance, she was a member of the research faculty at the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute in the Center on Health Insurance Reforms. She has also served as a senior health policy aide to Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) and Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.). She received her Master in Public Health degree from Yale University and a Bachelor of Science degree from MIT.

Marilyn Werber SerafiniPresident and Co-CEO
Before joining the Alliance, Marilyn was the Robin Toner Distinguished Fellow and senior correspondent at Kaiser Health News. She was an award-winning health care and welfare correspondent for National Journal magazine from 1995 to 2010, and before that was a senior reporter for CongressDaily (now National Journal daily). She holds a master’s degree in journalism and public affairs from American University and an undergraduate degree from the University of Maryland.

Honorary Co-Chairmen

Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) 
Sen. Roy Blunt serves on the Senate Appropriations Committee; the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee; the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence; and the Senate Rules Committee. He also serves as the chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies.

Sen. Ben Cardin (D-Md.) 
Sen, Ben Cardin serves as ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. He is a senior member of the Environment & Public Works Committee and Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee.

Founder and Chairman Emeritus

John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV
Jay Rockefeller served five terms as a Democratic senator from West Virginia. He was chairman of the Alliance for Health Reform from its founding in 1991 to 2007, and honorary chairman from 2008 until he retired from the Senate in 2014. During his Senate tenure, Sen. Rockefeller chaired the U.S. Bipartisan Commission on the Future of Health Care (Pepper Commission) and the National Commission on Children. Under his leadership, the children’s commission became a model for bipartisan lawmaking on children’s education, welfare and health care issues. Sen. Rockefeller was also chairman of the Finance Committee’s Health Care Subcommittee, and chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, among his other committee assignments.